Skip to content

What kind of woman is necessary?

April 21, 2014

I have a choice in women from the soft and demure to the trashy and tough as nails.

I would probably never pick either of these extremes but I like to see my choices as clearly as possible. This is just to get started, mind you. I never really know much about the characters until they show me what they’re like. As they get into different situations they usually change to handle things. If this is a very drastic change then on rewrite I will amend the first impressions of the character to at least hint at what is to follow.

I don’t want any extreme unexpected changes to the character unless it is necessary like what happened to Don in Taking Control. A huge trauma will necessarily change a person and may be necessary but only to change the characteristics of the story to make a point. And, the protagonist need not remain changed once the crisis is dealt with and over.

I think my female protagonist will be equipped with the proper skills to deal with the extremely strong male characters I am planning on having her meet. I am sure she will continue to develop to meet the challenges she will find. I am not at all sure what path she will follow which will mold what heroic stance she will be forced into.

In this, my first female lead character, I hope she will stay very feminine, at least in her public life. I like very much who she is in the beginning.

So, “What kind of woman is necessary?” Certainly the kind that will be able to change to meet the demands placed on her but how she does this… We will see…

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment